Regional Leadership Award

The NASFAA Regional Leadership Award is presented to individuals, who need not be financial aid administrators, who have made outstanding contributions to the financial aid profession at the regional and state levels over a sustained period of time, i.e., seven years or more. Leadership at the national level is not a criterion for this award. Current members of NASFAA's Board of Directors, including non-voting members, are not eligible to receive this award.

The individuals selected for this award must: 

  • Exhibit high integrity and character;
  • Have shown creative leadership;
  • Have inspired and encouraged others to participate actively in professional development activities;
  • Have continued active involvement in professional organizations after holding elected office; and
  • Have supported the goals and objectives of NASFAA. 

The 2014 submission period has ended. Winner will be announced at the 2014 NASFAA National Conference in Nashville, TN.

2012-13 NASFAA Regional Leadership Award Winners

One award is given in each of NASFAA’s six regions. The following were awarded in 2013: 

  • Barbara Miller (Stevenson University, Owings Mills, MD) has served as EASFAA president and currently serves on The College Board’s Middle States Council. She has been an EASFAA conference chairperson and chaired the Leadership and Mentoring Committee among numerous leadership positions at the state and regional level.
  • Marvin Smith (Indiana University-Purdue University Indianapolis, IN) has served the financial aid profession at the state, regional (MASFAA) and national levels. He has been president of the Indiana Association and served on the Executive Council of MASFAA, and has received service awards at the state and regional level.
  • Terri Gruba (University of Montana, Missoula, MT) has served as the Montana association’s vice president and president, and as RMASFAA secretary, president, and dean of the Summer Institute, as well as represetnatice-at-large to the NASFAA Board of Directors. She has been a frequent conference presenter at all levels, as well as serving on the Summer Institute faculty.
  • Heather Boutell (Bellarmine University, Louisville, KY) has served at the state, regional and national level. She has chaired the NASFAA Training and Professional Development Committee; has served SASFAA in both elected (treasurer, president) and appointed positions (committee chair and member); and has been Kentucky treasurer and president.
  • Laura Coponiti (University of Science and Arts of Oklahoma, Chickasha, OK) has been recognized by her home state of Oklahoma with the Distinguished Service Award and by SWASFAA with the Philo Brasher Award. She has served on NASFAA’s Finance and Audit Committee, as well as Finance Committee chair at both the state and regional level. She has been president of OASFAA and SWASFAA, as well as OASFAA Treasurer.
  • Patricia Hurley (Glendale Community College, Glendale, CA) has for many years made outstanding contributions to the financial aid community, including service at the state, regional and national levels as committee chair, committee member, and elected representative. She has been awarded lifetime membership to WASFAA.

See the past winners list, available in PDF format.