Help Your Colleagues Get the Recognition They Deserve

If you know anyone who goes above and beyond to help students and strengthen the financial aid profession, don't let their hard work go unnoticed. Make sure they get the recognition they deserve by nominating them for one of NASFAA's many awards. 

Every year, NASFAA recognizes outstanding individuals, committees, and state and regional associations for their achievements and contributions to the profession. Award winners will be announced at the 2012 National Conference being held July 22-25 in Chicago. 

Nominations are due Mar. 15, 2012, but there is no need to wait. Submit your nominations online today.

Check out all the awards that your colleagues may be eligible for:

Gold Star Award

This new award recognizes new and innovative ideas in financial aid. This award is open to individuals, institutions, and state and regional associations, and honors up to three ideas each year. If you know someone who has succeeded in doing something that no one has done before, we want to hear about it!


Allan W. Purdy Distinguished Service Award

This award is one of the highest awards that NASFAA bestows. It is awarded for significant contributions to the association over a sustained period of time or for a single contribution of momentous importance. Award recipients come from the financial aid, political, educational, business, or other communities.

Lifetime Membership Award

The Lifetime Membership Award is the highest award that NASFAA can bestow on one of its members or an individual who is affiliated with a member organization.

Honorary Membership Award

Honorary Membership in NASFAA is the highest honor bestowed on individuals who are not members or affiliated with a member organization. It is given to individuals who make an outstanding contribution to NASFAA and to the financial aid profession over a sustained period of time. Several members of Congress, a former Secretary of Education, and a former Commissioner of Education have received this award.

Meritorious Achievement Award

This award is presented to individuals who make an important contribution to NASFAA or to the profession. This can include an important single contribution or multiple significant contributions.

Regional Leadership Award

This award is presented to individuals who have made outstanding contributions to the financial aid profession at the regional and state levels over a sustained period of time (seven years or more). Current members of NASFAA's Board of Directors are not eligible to receive this award.

The 2011-12 NASFAA Awards Committee encourages you to nominate your colleagues today.

Dr. Barry W. Simmons, Sr., Committee Chair
Virginia Polytechnic Institute & State University 
Mr. William Cheetham
Le Moyne College 
Ms. Zina R. Haywood, Commission Director
Gateway Technical College 
Ms. Mary Givhan
Thomas More College  
Ms. Susan L. Murphy
University of San Francisco 
Ms. Lisa Lawson
Baton Rouge Community College  
Ms. Kelly Svenkesen
Laramie County Community College  
Mr. Ken McGhee
NASFAA Staff Liaison 
Ms. Mindy K. Eline
NASFAA Staff Liaison  
Ms. Sirena M. Smith
NASFAA Staff Liaison 


Publication Date: 10/27/2011

View Desktop Version