50th Anniversary Task Force

NASFAA celebrated its 50th anniversary in 2016. The celebration began at the 2015 conference in New Orleans, which was the 50th anniversary of the Higher Education Act, and concluded at the 2016 conference in Washington, DC. The primary purpose of the task force was to help plan NASFAA’s 50th anniversary year-long celebration.

Task Force Chair

  • Clantha McCurdy, Senior Deputy Commissioner, Massachusetts Board of Higher Education Office of Student Financial Assistance, EASFAA


  • Deb Barker-Garcia, Director of Financial Aid, Claremont Lincoln University, WASFAA            
  • Joe Paul Case, Retired, EASFAA
  • Brenda D. Hicks, Director of Financial Aid, Southwestern College, RMASFAA            
  • Wilma B. Porter, Director, Student Financial Resources & Scholarships, Oakland Community College, MASFAA
  • Janet L. Riis, Director of Financial Aid, Carroll College, RMASFAA
  • Michelle Trame, Senior Associate Director, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, MASFAA
  • Sarah Zipf, Office of Student Aid for World Campus & Continuing Education, The Pennsylvania State University, EASFAA

Commission Directors

  • 2014-15: David Page, Vice President for Enrollment Management, Dillard University, SASFAA
  • 2015-16: Kay W. Soltis, Director of Financial Aid, Pacific Lutheran University, WASFAA

Staff Liaisons

View Desktop Version