2018 Conference Task Forces

Thank you to our task force members who helped make sure the conference ran smoothly and was beneficial for our attendees.

The National Conference Program Task Force was chartered with the goal of ensuring quality educational sessions are offered at the conference. The educational sessions must reach the various interests and sectors of the NASFAA membership.

Conference Program Task Force Members

  • Chair: Zita Barree, Director of Financial Aid, Hampden-Sydney College
  • Commission Director: Jim White, Dean, Student Financial Services, Gonzaga University
  • Members:
    • Peggy Tvrdy, Doane University
    • Victoria Hampton, University of Hartford
    • Michelle Trame, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
    • Lois Madsen, Kansas Wesleyan University
    • Zilma Lopes, Central Carolina Community College
    • Cathy Sanchez, University of North Texas Health Science Center
    • Rosie Castaneda, University of California, San Diego
  • NASFAA Staff Liaisons: Jennifer Jackson, Dana Kelly and Debra LaGrone

The Local Arrangements Task Force was tasked with soliciting volunteers for registration, managing the conference registration counter and information desk, providing local information for posting to the NASFAA website and for inclusion in Today's News, and assisting with on-site performers, as needed, in Austin, TX.

Local Arrangements Task Force Members

  • Chair: Diane Sprague, Director of the Office of Financial Aid, University of Texas at Austin
  • Commission Director: Jim White, Dean, Student Financial Services, Gonzaga University
  • Members:
    • Terry Bazan, Austin Community College
    • Eileen Eiden, Austin Community College
    • Christine Gauger, University of Texas at Austin
    • Gordon Lipscomb, University of Texas at Austin
    • Latisha Marion, Austin Community College
    • Denise Welch, Panola College
  • NASFAA Staff Liaisons: Jennifer Jackson and Mary Nokes

While NASFAA always hosts a welcome reception for first-time attendees and other networking events, we continue to look for creative ways to help first-time attendees connect with colleagues. The Conference Mentor Task Force was responsible for creating that first-time positive impression.

Conference Mentor Task Force Members

  • Chair: Amy Berrier, University of North Carolina at Greensboro
  • Commission Director: Mary Sommers, University of Nebraska at Kearney
  • Steering Committee Members:
    • Mary Horgan, University of Michigan - Flint
    • Theresa Lowder, Berea College
    • Cristi Millard, Salt Lake Community College
    • Dareth Wallace, University of Maryland University College
    • Steve Woodburn, Colorado Christian University
  • NASFAA Staff Liaisons: Mindy Eline and Mandy Sponholtz
View Desktop Version