CFAA Commission

The Commission of the Certified Financial Aid Administrator (CFAA) Program serves as the independent certifying body of NASFAA that awards the CFAA certification, and sets policy and standards related to the CFAA Program. NASFAA members can read through the actions of the Commission in the approved meeting minutes.


Regional Representatives

Daniel Barkowitz

CFAA Commission Chair, Southern Representative
Daniel Barkowitz
Valencia College

Kathy BialkMidwest
Kathy Bialk
University of Iowa

Susan ShogrenCFAA Program Manager
Susan Shogren

Phillip HawkinsEastern
Phillip Hawkins
George Washington University School of Law

Dana KellyCFAA Fiscal Officer
Dana Kelly

Susan StephensonRocky Mountain
Susan Stephenson
Eastern Wyoming College

Margot O'MearaCommission Secretary
Margot O'Meara

Elaine RobinsonWestern
Elaine Robinson
Linn-Benton Community College



Commissioners At-Large

Taina SvoitSouthwest
Taina Savoit
McNeese State University

Shannon CrosslandShannon Crossland
Texas Tech University


Public Representative

Nick PrewettNick Prewett
University of Missouri

Todd PhilbrickTodd Philbrick
The American Speech-Language-Hearing Association (ASHA)

View Desktop Version