Honorary Membership Award

Honorary Membership in NASFAA is the highest honor that the Association can bestow on a person who is neither a member nor affiliated with a member organization.

Since this is the highest such award that NASFAA can give, the individual receiving it must have made truly outstanding contributions to the Association and to the profession over a sustained period of time. It is not expected that honorary membership will be granted in recognition of a single accomplishment, but for continued efforts over a period of time. Several members of Congress, a former Secretary of Education, and a former Commissioner of Education have received this award.

The NASFAA Awards Nomination process is now closed. Winners will be announced this summer at the NASFAA National Conference.

2017 Honorary Membership Award Winner

Jeff Baker (retired), director of the policy, liaison, and implementation staff, U.S. Department of Education. 

With over 35 years in the student financial aid industry, Baker has made significant contributions to the U.S. Department of Education, students, and schools. He has been a critical resource to our states and regions, and has served NASFAA, the WASFAA region, and the California association. Jeff has previously been awarded NASFAA's Meritorious Achievement Award and the NASFAA Regional Leadership Award for WASFAA. Baker retired in July 2017 after a long and illustrious career in public service.

Past winners list (PDF)

Publication Date: 2/26/2018

View Desktop Version