Robert P. Huff Golden Quill Award

Golden Quill Logo

The Robert P. Huff Golden Quill Award may be presented each year to an individual or individuals chosen for their contributions to the literature on student financial aid.

The award is named in honor of Bob Huff, former director of financial aid at Stanford University and himself an outstanding contributor to the scholarly literature on student aid. Bob received the first Golden Quill Award in 1984.

Nominees for the award are judged on the basis of published work which exemplifies the highest quality of research methodology, analysis, or topical writing on the subject of student financial aid or its administration.

The 2022 award winners will be announced this summer at the NASFAA National Conference

Jamie Ramirez-Mendoza2021 Robert P. Huff Golden Quill Award Winners

Dr. Tiffany Jones

Jaime Ramirez-Mendoza and Tiffany Jones, The Education Trust

Jaime Ramirez-Mendoza and Tiffany Jones of The Education Trust recent work "Using Professional Judgment in Financial Aid to Advance Racial Justice & Equity" released in December 2020, provides a racial equity analysis of the professional judgment process. Their piece provides policy recommendations for the Office of Federal Student Aid and highlights opportunities for financial aid offices to collect and use data to assess access and equity in their appeals processes, and to be intentional in training their financial aid administrators. 


Today's News Coverage  |  Past Winners List

Publication Date: 11/5/2021

Related Content

Student Aid Index Modeling Tool


Protecting Borrowers & Advancing Equity


View Desktop Version